Facebook Pressed on COVID-19 Vaccine Disinformation by US State Attorneys General


The Attorney Generals of 14 US states sent a letter to Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg asking whether the top broadcasters of vaccine disinfection on the platform have received special treatment from the company.

The line of inquiry was generated after Facebook informer Francis Haugen Used internal documents to reveal that the social media platform created a system that exempts high-profile users from some or all of its rules.

In the letter, which was sent Wednesday, 14 Democratic attorneys general said they are “extremely concerned” by recent reports that Facebook is maintaining a list of members who have received special treatment and would like to know whether The Disruptive Dozen” was part of them. lists.

The Center for Countering Digital Hate describes the “Disinformation Dozen” as 12 anti-vaxxers that account for nearly two-thirds of anti-vaccine material circulated on social media platforms.

Facebook spokesman Alex Burgos pointed to earlier comments by the company that it had removed more than three dozen pages, groups and Facebook or Instagram accounts linked to those 12 people, including 12 in violation of its policies. At least one was attached to each. It has also imposed penalties on some of their website domains.

COVID-19 During the pandemic, propaganda has spread on social media sites including Facebook. Twitter, And youtube. Researchers and lawmakers have long accused Facebook of failing to police harmful content on its platform.

In July, US President Joe Biden Social media platforms like Facebook said “Killing People” For allowing false information about coronavirus vaccines to be posted on its platform.

Haugen, a former product manager on Facebook’s civil misinformation team, has left the company with thousands of confidential documents and called for transparency about how Facebook entices users to keep scrolling, allowing advertisers to access them. There is ample opportunity to reach.

The letter was sent by the attorneys general for Connecticut, California, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia.

© Thomson Reuters 2021